Anglican General Synod

Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Te Hahi Mihinare ki Aotearoa ki Niu Tireni, ki Nga Moutere o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa

Ministry Standards Commission

The Ministry Standards Commission is established under Title D/Canon II 



to give general advice to Bishops and the Primates as to matters of discipline;




to issue guidelines on vetting processes for candidates for ordination;




to issue codes of practice and general policy guidance to persons exercising functions in connection with ministry standards including on training required in relation to ministry standards;




to audit the approach of Episcopal Units of this Church to the training and monitoring of Ministers;




to issue regulations relating to the conduct of disciplinary proceedings and guidance on the publication of information in relation to the disciplinary processes of this Church;




to maintain a list of those qualified and prepared to act as Church Advocates and make arrangements for the provision of funding to recompense those appointed as such;




to maintain a list of those qualified to serve on tribunals;




to appoint a Registrar and agree the terms of appointment with him or her;




to give advice to the Registrar on matters of tikanga and doctrine when the Registrar is carrying out functions under this Title D;




to maintain a list of persons who can act as chaplains to provide pastoral support both to complainants and respondents; and




to report at each session of the General Synod / te Hīnota Whānui on its work.


All complaints about any alleged misconduct or unsatisfactory conduct by an ordained minister, licensed person, or office holder are received and handled by the Registrar of the Ministry Standards Commission.

© Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Follow us on Facebook: Anglican-Church-in-Aotearoa-New-Zealand-Polynesia

It is our hope that the information contained here will enable Anglicans and others to be informed of the ministry of this Church. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia, is a constitutionally autonomous member of the worldwide Anglican Communion. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia encompasses the area described by its title. The 1992 Constitution of this Church provides for three partners to order their affairs within their own cultural context. Within Aotearoa New Zealand, Tikanga Pakeha comprises seven Dioceses, Tikanga Maori comprises five Amorangi, the boundaries of which differ from those of the dioceses. Tikanga Pasefika encompasses Fiji, Tonga, Samoa and the Cook Islands, and is known as the Diocese of Polynesia. Publication: 'Anglican Taonga' (Treasure) is a publication affirming the unity and diversity of the Anglican community in these islands. .

All rights reserved |  Disclaimer |  Login

eZ Publish site developed by Quiqcorp Ltd