Anglican General Synod

Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Te Hahi Mihinare ki Aotearoa ki Niu Tireni, ki Nga Moutere o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa

The General Secretary

The Reverend Canon Michael Hughes

The Reverend Canon Michael Hughes
09 521 4439

Tuia -The Office of the General Synod
200 St Johns Road, Meadowbank, Auckland
P O Box 87188, Meadowbank, Auckland 1742


The Reverend Michael Hughes is the General Secretary of the Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia.

Michael, who lives on Auckland’s North Shore, became General Secretary in late 2009, and has a Master of Arts degree from Oxford; a Masters in Theology (Hons) from the Melbourne College of Divinity; a BA Hons from Oxford, plus a Diploma in Ministry for Theology Graduates from Ripon College Cuddesdon, Oxford – and a Bachelor of Management Studies from the University of Waikato.

He also has wide past experience in youth ministry, has taught papers in youth ministry through Otago University, and published a book on the subject, and several essays on a range of subjects including ecumenism, youth ministry, and sin. He was ordained in the Diocese of Waikato (now Waikato and Taranaki) in 1997 and served in parishes firstly in New Plymouth, and then in Auckland.

Contact Form

© Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Follow us on Facebook: Anglican-Church-in-Aotearoa-New-Zealand-Polynesia

It is our hope that the information contained here will enable Anglicans and others to be informed of the ministry of this Church. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia, is a constitutionally autonomous member of the worldwide Anglican Communion. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia encompasses the area described by its title. The 1992 Constitution of this Church provides for three partners to order their affairs within their own cultural context. Within Aotearoa New Zealand, Tikanga Pakeha comprises seven Dioceses, Tikanga Maori comprises five Amorangi, the boundaries of which differ from those of the dioceses. Tikanga Pasefika encompasses Fiji, Tonga, Samoa and the Cook Islands, and is known as the Diocese of Polynesia. Publication: 'Anglican Taonga' (Treasure) is a publication affirming the unity and diversity of the Anglican community in these islands. .

All rights reserved |  Disclaimer |  Login

eZ Publish site developed by Quiqcorp Ltd